Senryu Standings 2004

H

ere are the final standings for all subscribers who participated in 2004. The score is based on a 5 point system. 5 for 天 Ten, 4 for 地 Chi, 3 for 人 Jin, 2 for 三客 Sankyaku and 1 for all other participating subscribers.

Now, as you should all know, it is not about the winning. It never is. The purpose of art–and life in general–is to participate. And as participants, you experience something different, making yourself all the more unique and special–even if you are just dabbling. I believe this in my heart. When I went to Japan, I studied at Nihon University. There, I met a professor who researched Edo Period senryu. I told him my father practiced senryu poetry and that even I had tried my hand in it. He looked at me and said in a tone that I suppose he meant to be polite, “I don’t really read amateur poetry.” My pride was not so much hurt as I was disturbed by this attitude. Isn’t particpating in any fashion the first step to learning? And even if you don’t make it your life’s work, did you not at least learn something new, and maybe something about yourself? And that alone has value?

I swore that I would never be that kind of teacher. I enjoy sharing my experience–what I know, what I have learned–with my students, hoping the assignments I give them, the readings they do, the projects they are “forced” to do, will expand their horizons even a little, making them more open, more experienced, more accepting and ultimately better people. I want them to enter my world, even if for a taste, in the hopes that they too will grow into adults who will be willing to let others into their own worlds. No judgments, no discrimination.

And this is why I hold these “salons”, modest as they are. I want you to taste a little bit of my world, and I hope to share in what you have to offer.

Anyway, here is a list of scores of all participants this year, led by SunJun and msbLiss. Tomorrow, I will talk a little bit about their poetry.

name may june july aug sept dec total
SunJun 2 1 1 5 5 2 16
msbLiSs 2 1 5 4 2 1 15
SammyStorm 1 4 july 3 2 dec 10
imahima 4 1 1 2 1 dec 9
XanthochromeSum may 5 1 1 1 1 9
whonose may 2 july 1 1 5 9
RachelsMommy may june july 2 4 3 9
bane_vixen 1 1 2 1 sept 2 7
tim00 5 1 july aug sept dec 6
SleepingCutie may 2 2 1 1 dec 6
pallyatheart 1 3 1 aug sept dec 5
detachable 2 1 july aug sept 2 5
LaMangust may june 3 1 sept 1 5
AznQuarter may june july aug 1 4 5
onigiri may june 1 1 3 dec 5
crotchety_old_man 3 june july 1 sept dec 4
SweetLilV may 2 1 aug 1 dec 4
eechim may june 1 2 1 dec 4
ChiisanaHoshi may june 2 aug 2 dec 4
those_days may june 4 aug sept dec 4
cgran may june 1 1 1 dec 3
ddsb2000 1 1 july aug sept dec 2
gt_ninja 1 june july aug 1 dec 2
sputtum 1 june july aug sept dec 1
globalguy007 1 june july aug sept dec 1
nefarious_hatter 1 june july aug sept dec 1
Grom may 1 july aug sept dec 1
ikerton may 1 july aug sept dec 1
silvermyst_ashke may 1 july aug sept dec 1
wildkat03 may 1 july aug sept dec 1
zhuzhu may june 1 aug sept dec 1
fooky11 may june 1 aug sept dec 1
No1watching may june 1 aug sept dec 1
Simply_Marie may june 1 aug sept dec 1
ekin may june july 1 sept dec 1
Link_Strife may june july 1 sept dec 1
dawn_1o9 may june july 1 sept dec 1
SweetLilV may june july 1 sept dec 1
fyzle may june july 1 sept dec 1
Momo5 may june july 1 sept dec 1
sekura81 may june july 1 sept dec 1
Fongster8 may june july aug 1 dec 1
Simply_Lynne may june july aug 1 dec 1
jcangel311 may june july aug 1 dec 1
silvermyst_ashke may june july aug 1 dec 1
kizyr may june july aug 1 dec 1
shiroi_norite may june july aug 1 dec 1
tinkarrific may june july aug 1 dec 1
iiSoNySoUnDii may june july aug 1 dec 1
DaddyLike may june july aug sept 1 1
Allanwr may june july aug sept 1 1
HANDI_411 may june july aug sept 1 1
SleepyWalnut may june july aug sept 1 1
WolferasDreams may june july aug sept 1 1
Di_Gah_Jea may june july aug sept 1 1
SENSEI49 may june july aug sept 1 1
may june july aug sept dec total
Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

