Weekend report

H

ad a relatively nice weekend. Indeed, the past few weekends have been pretty nice since I’ve decided to leave work at work. For most of my teaching career, I took work home: grading, reading, preparing for class. But my work load was such that I could balance work with home/play. But the work load for the last academic year was way over the top. I found myself working 24/7.

And ignoring my family.

Well, no more of that shit. Starting in September, I will go to work earlier, spend a 35-40 hour work week at school, and then leave everything there. If I don’t finish grading, then it doesn’t get graded. If I don’t have a lesson plan ready in time, then the students will have to live through a discussion session. I love to teach and spending personal time to teach is not a sacrifice, but I cannot expect nor will I allow M to make that sacrifice. I’m pretty sure that’s not the reason why she married me. And I certainly didn’t marry her to ignore her because of work. Otherwise I shouldn’t have gotten re-married. So I will do my work at school, I will keep my office door closed more than before and shoot the breeze with students less.

This is a sea change in my approach to teaching. I’ve always seen teaching as a calling more than a career, and so I take my teacher-student relationship very seriously. But I hope they will understand when I cut back their time a bit for myself. And since this change is rather drastic, I am implementing it slightly this summer. I don’t spend 40 hours on campus, but I arrive earlier than previous summers, and I try not to take too much work home.

The result is calmer weekends. Friday I went shopping with M, Saturday we went to Home Depot to get stuff to do yard work–mulch is too stinky–and yesterday we went to see “Howl’s Moving Castle”. It was in Japanese, so that was good. I didn’t want to see it dubbed. That would suck.

The movie was visually stunning, as all of Miyazaki’s animations are, but the story was a little confusing as many reviewers have written over the past few weeks. But when I sat down to think about it, it became a bit clearer. But I’ll talk about it tomorrow. It’s back to work for me!

Explore posts in the same categories: Miscellany

One Comment on “Weekend report”

  1. Panda Says:

    This is why you should hire a lecturer like me to teach your other classes!!!


Leave a Reply

