Don’t TGIF

M

an, this has been one hell of a week. I can’t remember the last time I’ve felt so busy. Of course, I must blame a lot of it on poor time management… as if I should have to worry about such things. Thanks to the immigration interview prep and ultimate fiasco of last week, I had to put off some of my work, which led to the overload this week: extra papers to grade, letters of recommendations, blah, blah, blah… And did I mention my sister dropped into town on Wednesday night? I haven’t seen her in quite awhile, so it was nice to talk to her. Not her fault, of course, but I wish the timing was better. I spent time grading instead of talking to her more.

In any event, I have some more work to do, and I will try to finish it off as quickly as possible.

  • Letter of recs–MatsukinSamba, Hanazakari
  • Grading–Readings quiz, Lit papers
  • Program newsletter–*sigh*
  • Midterm prep–Lit, Classical
  • Class prep–Genji teams.

The last item on the list is worrisome. Creating an exam is fine, but that also means I have to grade it. So should I create an exam that is challenging, one that induces, distinguishes, and acknowledges the abilities of my students? Or should I give them an easy exam–multiple choice, fill in the blanks, true/false–one that is easy to grade. Decisions, decisions.

Well, since I love my students, especially the good ones, I will likely create midterms that combine both, although perhaps heavier on the challenging side. Besides, I am a masochist at heart, all evidence to the contrary–my students will point to my daily/weekly quizzes and remind me of my sadistic tendencies…

*sigh*

Don’t they realize it’s all for them?

So it looks like my weekend is booked. The only down time will be spent watching my Bruin game–we play my other alma mater–and maybe sometime running…

So what are you guys doing this weekend?

Explore posts in the same categories: 1

