These Boots Were Made for Walking

A

s I should have known, spring semester is the busiest semester for me. So many classes, so much work, so little time. I’m already tired and the semester is only a week old. There are seven more weeks until spring break (yeah!), and 14 more weeks before the end of the semester. I’m already counting the days…

As I count these days, I am exercising. Running is the fastest way to lose weight and get fit, but I am perhaps getting too old for that, so M suggested I focus on walking. There is a lesser chance of me giving up and quitting. She said that I/everyone should take 10,000 steps a day. Yes, ten thousand. But not to fret. I figured it all out. I walk rather briskly and take 140 steps per minute, so a walk to the train station for me–I just counted it today–is 700 steps. That’s 1400 round trip. That leave, oh, only 8600 steps for the rest of the day. That’s about one hour’s worth of walking.

The problem is that I do not walk for an hour even on a busy day. So I walked on the treadmill for an hour this morning. So I got my 10,000 steps in today. Unfortunately, as M said, this is for my health. If I want to lose weight, I have to try to DOUBLE that amount.

*gulp*

So I’m walking another hour on the treadmill in the basement as I watch the news before I go to sleep. I’m hoping I’ll be so exhausted, I’ll just crash. All this exercise will de-stress me, I’m hoping. So I’m off…

Explore posts in the same categories: Miscellany

2 Comments on “These Boots Were Made for Walking”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    when i first got a treadmill, i used it everyday to maintain my weight (or even lose a couple of pounds as I had hoped). but when the school semester starts, i only get to use it on weekends.

    -G

  2. KwokSiong Says:

    don’t worry so much…


Leave a Reply

