Recovery

Okay, I’m into my last week of winter break and I finally feel like I’m on break… except for the fact that I now have to prepare for classes that start this coming Tuesday. Man, oh, man. My sister visited us for Christmas–which was nice–but she arrived on the 20th and I still had an exam on the 21st, so I didn’t get to finish grading finals until after she left, around the 28th. Sorry to my students who may have received their grades a bit late.

So after finishing up the grading and then puttering around the house–tighten some faucets, do maintenance on the fan in two bathrooms–I finally caught my breath sometime this past weekend. I even went to see a movie–A Night at the Museum–at Tyson’s Corner. The theater is beautiful and huge, but expensive for a poor professor-type like me. We went mid-afternoon to watch a matinee, but I learned too late that on weekends, matinee prices apply only to shows before 12 PM. Now, who goes to see a movie before 12 noon?!? That is pretty bogus. If I had known that, I would have gone elsewhere… maybe… I think… but those seats were so nice and the stadium seating allows M–who is very short–to see the entire screen no matter who sits in front of her, even Shaq. Well, maybe if Yao Ming sat in front of her she might have a problem–as an Asian he has the short leg-long torso syndrome we all suffer from.

Anyway, so now I’m working on next semester’s classes with very little time invested in recharging my batteries. But thanks to fyzle, I did learn that I could recharge my brain if I stop drinking. Apparently, ceasing alcohol intake can lead to a degree of brain cell recovery, according to this article sourced from Oxford University. Now, I have stopped smoking for six years, and the longer I am off the cancer sticks, the more I am convinced I made the right choice. To give up drinking seems like another tough choice. I just love beer and wine but do find myself more forgetful and just basically slower than i once was. If I can gain some of my brain function back–short term memory, quicker analysis–then this is something I would need to consider quite seriously. I am, afterall, in the business of “thinking”.

Well, we’ll see. I’d make it a New Years resolution, but I’ve come to the realization that resolutions are made to be broken, so why make something in the first place?

Now what was I talking about?

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

